I am very new to cutting the cord and am getting fed up with the rising costs of entertainment! And for some reason, I am having a difficult time researching OTA devices that will easily stream from one location over the Internet to another remote location and preferably using a ROKU.

I found AirTV that allegedly do this through Roku and the Sling TV app on Roku or the AirTV player app that is also available on Roku. The problem is I cannot get any definitive information on how this is done... the connection from the remote Roku to the DVR streaming device. Calling their help I was told I need to open port 5401 on my router/firewall but am truly confused how these connect remotely.

I also found that Tablo is also suppossed to be able to do so but does not support a Roku. An android tv box or PC would be needed at the remote location.

SO... to make a long story short, what is the best DVR streaming box that will stream over the Internet and hopefully to a Roku and associated app? AND if say AirTV is best.. how does it hook up?

Thanks so much!

John
    11-02-2018 12:25 AM
    I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to do here. For the most part the apps we use, Netflix, YouTube TV, SingTV etc are all available on whatever device we need, even a computer. Are you trying to watch content you have DVR'd from Sling TV on a different device? You might be able to use a program called Plex for that, BUT you may also need a PC to host the shows you download.
    11-02-2018 11:29 AM
    pkcable, thanks for the reply. I always have a hard time explaining what I need making it unclear. My apologies.